Middle School Initiative Pilot 2020

The Mississippi Department of Education, through the Office of Secondary Education, is pleased to announce the schools that have been selected as pilots for the Middle School Initiative Pilot 2020.  These schools will participate in a year-long professional learning collaborative to build the capacity of teachers and leaders, and will receive resources, training, and support in the areas of social , emotional, and academic development to increase student achievement.   Strategic partners in this initiative include CCSSO, MAMLE, SREB, College Board, CASEL, and ACT.

  1. Armstrong Middle School (Starkville-Oktibbeha)
  2. Bell-Shivers Middle School (Aberdeen)
  3. Cleveland Central Middle School (Cleveland)
  4. Colmer Middle School (Pascagoula-Gautier)
  5. Columbus Middle School (Columbus)
  6. Jackson County School District
  7. Jefferson County Upper Elementary (Jefferson)
  8. Jefferson County Junior High (Jefferson)
  9. Jefferson Middle School (Columbia)
  10. Laurel Middle School (Laurel)
  11. Magnolia Middle School   (Moss Point)
  12. Rod Paige Middle School (Lawrence)
  13. Simmons Jr. High School (Hollandale)
  14. Siwell Middle School (JPS)
  15. Vicksburg Jr. High School (Vicksburg-Warren)
  16. W.A. Higgins Middle (Clarksdale)
  17. Warren Central Junior High (Vicksburg-Warren)
  18. William Winans Middle School (Wilkinson County)
  19. Williams-Sullivan Middle School (Holmes)
  20. Yazoo County Middle School (Yazoo County)