Four Mississippi Teachers Receive Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) awardee Terry Rose (center) receives recognition from Jason Dean, Ed.D., Mississippi State Board of Education chair, and Carey Wright, Ed.D., state superintendent of education.

Four Mississippi teachers earned national recognition as the recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) for 2017 and 2018. The awardees were announced this week.

Selected teachers from Mississippi are:

  • Carrie Koenigsberger, The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (2017)
  • Michelle Robinson, Madison Central High School, Madison County School District (2017)
  • Shelby Miller, Singing River Academy, Pascagoula Gautier School District (2018)
  • Theresa Rose, Stone Elementary School, Stone County School District (2018)

“I congratulate these teachers on their well-deserved recognition. This prestigious honor proves the excellence of teachers in our classrooms, and their schools and communities should be proud,” said Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education.

Nominations and awards are facilitated by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and the National Science Foundation. Established in 1983, PAEMST is the highest award given by the U.S. Government to kindergarten through 12th grade teachers of mathematics and science, including computer science. Awardees come from schools in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) schools, and schools in the United States territories of Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands.

A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists, and educators at the State and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees.  Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education.

2017 PAEMST Awardees:

Carrie Koenigsberger
Michelle Robinson










2018 PAEMST Awardees:

Shelby Miller
Theresa Rose